DHBC Life Members List, 1908-2018

A place for those keen on vintage and retro bikes - steel is real.
User avatar
Posts: 1120
Joined: 03 Jul 2011, 13:14
Location: Ashbury

Postby marc2131 » 13 Mar 2018, 11:16

This info also in the '' Conversations '' thread on this forum.
http://dhbc.org.au/forum/viewtopic.php? ... ers#p62311

Life membership issued between 1908 and 1970
JC 'Charlie' Paris (1879-1950) - Foundation member and long time club secretary. Charlie and his shop, located on Hercules/Loftus Sts, Dulwich Hill, acted as a focal point for the club until the late 1940s. Paris also received a Life Membership from the NSW Amateur Cyclists' Union (CNSW) in 1932. For more info see: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4859
Mr Cotton snr. - no info available
Edward 'Ted' Pink snr(1881-1972) - Foundation member. For more info see viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5039
J Green - no info available
William 'Bill' McCord - Bill joined the club in the early 1930s and competed on Henson Park when it still had a dirt track. He was elected as Chairman of the club for 12 years.
Jack Sandberg - Jack joined the DHBC in 1937. After the war he acted as club Secretary from 1946 and was a club delegate the cycling peak body of the day. He remained active within the club into the 1980s and 90s.
Arthur Percival (added on 21.3.69) - Arthur was born a Kiwi. I believe he joined the club in the 50s and was one of a band of 'constant' workers who helped build the Camperdown velodrome eventhough he was about 70 years old at the time. Up to the 1970s, Arthur was considered one of the oldest competitive riders in the DHBC.

In the late 1990s the following members were included:
Lionel Cox (1930-2010) - Lionel needs no introduction. He is the only club member to have won an Olympic gold medal. He has been with the club since 1956 and was a regular at track training.
Arthur Donnelly (c1930s-2013?) - Arthur rode with the Lakemba, Rozelle, Petersham clubs before he joined DHBC in the 1960s. He acted as 'Marshall for the Union' for many years attending as a delegate to Council meetings. He had a great interest in track racing and could be seen at Tempe velodrome regularly in his later years. Arthur also received a CNSW Medal of Merit for 50 years of service in 2001

In the 21st century the following members were recognised:
2008: Alan Sumner (1936-)
2008: Coral Shying (c1936-)
2017: Mick Mazza (1939-). Added 7 May 2017.
2017: Special Posthumous Recognition Award for Claude (1919-82) and Sonia (1921-2008) Heathcote. Added 7 May 2017. Claude was also made a Life Member of Cycling NSW in 1965. Sonia received a CNSW Medal of Merit for 50 years of service in 2001.
2018: Lindsay Munks (1961-). Added 7 April 2018 at 110th anniversary celebrations. Ratified at DHBC AGM, 10 May 2018.

Return to “Vintage Bicycles”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests